New Law on Florida’s E-Bikes
There is a newly enacted bill in Florida which increases the maximum speed limit and eliminates the age restrictions for e-bike use. It also allows recumbent bikes to qualify for electric assistance devices. This new bill will create statewide standards that could facilitate statewide bike rental and bike-share businesses. Even though the new bill changes current laws statewide, it still allows local “home rule” power so that local governments and communities can enforce their own stricter laws and regulation of e-bikes.
Florida E-bike Laws SUMMARY:
- Definition – a two-wheeled cycle propelled “solely by human power” or “by a combination of human power and electric helper motor.” 003(4).
- Speed – can travel up to 28 miles per hour on level ground.
- Rider Restrictions – must be older than 16 years of age (New law eliminates this)
- Licensing – no license required
- Registration – no registration required
- Roadways – same roadways and paths as regular bicycles.
Attorney Charles Geary is a lifelong cyclist who has reviewed Florida’s e-bike laws and pending legislation. Florida has lately become a well-known destination for cycling tourism. Florida’s sunny skies, warm weather, flat terrain, and beaches are a natural attraction for health-conscious cycling tourists. Groups like BikeFlorida.org facilitate and encourage Florida cycling adventures and connect northern cyclists to the many cycling opportunities in our sunny state.
E-bikes are quickly becoming an alternative for riders who see the advantages of increased speed and distance and who are seeking less requirements for fitness and effort. Riders are able to travel without gasoline or noise and are more connected with their surroundings than automobile drivers.